Skip to content

Ancient Whisper

April 18, 2014

writingonarock_small

So for the past two (two? three?) National Poetry Months, I’ve challenge my friend, writer and filmmaker Anita Abbasi to write a poem by the end of the month. I know some people are bold enough to write a poem a day.

Good for them.

Our standards aren’t as high and we like to think quality over quantity (or something like that). The past couple of times we’ve stuck with forms like sestinas, sonnets and cinquains. Anita has accepted the challenge but as a warm up, I just dove into a short poem in the etheree style (a 10 line poem, each line starts with 1 syllable, than 2 syllables, 3, 4,5,6,7,8,9 and the final line ends with 10 syllables).

As I was walking around Terrace, BC, taking a break from the Toronto hustle, I’ve been knocked out senseless by the mountains. Like look at them:

2014-04-16 19.31.36

 

Even more intense is the stillness, the west coast air and the subtle but distinct sound of mountain wind passing by.
That’s what really got me while chillin’ with nature today. So here’s the piece below. And a video clip off the fly! Comments and criticism welcome. To see past poetry challenges, click here!

 

Ancient Whisper

 

wind
whispers
singing songs
about my life
long before this life
existed, wind whispers
telling tales from a time
when no one bothered keeping time
through wind, I learn of the ancestors
through life, I honour their spirit through wind.

(C) Whitney French 2014

6 Comments leave one →
  1. rozanne permalink
    April 23, 2014 1:06 pm

    Hey Whitney! I love this style of poetry. I am totally going to get my kids to do this today. Needed inspiration to get them on board with National Poetry month! Oh, and I sent you an email about a month ago, wondering if you got it or it got lost in the Interweb somewhere…. :)

    • May 13, 2014 12:49 pm

      Curse you interwebs! Mayhaps it did. I’m diggin’ your blog thos Rozanne, it’s very refreshing. Thanks for visitng, are the kids still writing? I’d love to see some of their stuff. Until next time

  2. Stuart Ross permalink
    April 28, 2014 7:42 am

    Really nice reading. I hadn’t heard of an etheree before. What a great form!

    • May 13, 2014 12:50 pm

      Thanks Stuart, I’m pretty new to the form myself. We’re due to collaborate on a poem!

Trackbacks

  1. POEM: Just a Miss | Anthems on Anthems
  2. Blog-o-versary! Look who’s 4! | Writing in a Tree

Leave a Reply

