Skip to content

Photography: Sorrel in Snow

December 29, 2013

sorrel_in_snow

My heart goes out to all the families who lost power over the holiday season. I was so blessed to be unaffected although my parents’ house was without power for 12 hours and my grandparents were struggling without heat for almost two days. It’s good to know most if not all Toronto folks have their power restored by now.
o
Two good things that came out of the  Toronto Ice Storm: 1) the stunning ‘frozen-in-time’ photos of trees (and even then my camera was acting up) and 2) the homemade sorrel that me and my grandma made were ice-cold to perfection (pioneer-style).
o
o
Revealing the two key ingredients in this sorrel recipe: strawberry syrup and port wine. Reuse those bottles.

Revealing the two key ingredients in this sorrel recipe: strawberry syrup and port wine. Reuse those bottles.

o
For those who do not know, sorrel is a sweeeeeeeeet Caribbean drink made from red hibiscus flower and is very common around  the holiday season. I made my first batch early on this year and my roommate said it smelt like Christmas. So my second round I took guidance from my true yardie grannie and as usual, we bottle the goods in any plastic or glass container we can find. I wish I could share the recipe but its Grandma’s secret but there’s tonnes of great youtube videos of people sharing their take on the classic beverage. And it’s got great health benefits as sorrel is full of minerals, vitamins and antioxidants.
o
Oh and if you’re interested in seeing some stunning photos of the Toronto Ice Storm in all its shimmering beauty, my mad talented friend Sheniz Janmohammed (a fellow poet) has posted some beauties on her blog.
o
Over and out!
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

