Skip to content

POEM: one punch

November 1, 2013

Wrote this piece, rather, I busked this poem in 2 minutes flat. I’m getting better at this typewriter thing. Still loads of typos but ain’t the paper wonderfully textured?

CAM00258

it only took one punch

and he hit the ground

cracked a tile

a mouth full of espresso

coffee staining a white collared shirt

don’t steal my poem!

he found out the dirt

the secret let out

and a fight broke out over

a girl, it’s always a girl

don’t steal my poem!

the victor, still breathing

a heavy chorus

watches the man twice his weight

lay motionless by his feet

and the twist of his body

the throb of his hand

the idea that under circumstances outside

this moment,

don’t steal my poem!

they could have been friends.

don’t steal my poem!

© Whitney French

FOR MORE BUSKED POEMS VISIT MY TUMBLR! It’s new and shiny!

Over and out!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. schizophrenicbunny permalink
    November 1, 2013 2:13 am

    Oh! I’m so envious. I want a typewriter and yes the paper texture is wonderful. The typos are like accessories, they give the poem character.

  2. November 5, 2013 6:31 am

    Hiya very cool website!! Guy .. Excellent .. Wonderful
    .. I’ll bookmark your web site and take the feeds additionally?
    I’m glad to search out so many helpful info here in the put up, we’d like develop more strategies in this regard, thanks
    for sharing. . . . . .

  3. March 30, 2014 2:56 am

    Hi there! This post couldn’t be written any better! Looking through this post reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He continually kept preaching about this. I most certainly will
    forward this post to him. Fairly certain he will have a
    great read. Many thanks for sharing!

    • April 11, 2014 12:33 pm

      Hey, thanks for visiting the blog. I’m glad you enjoyed the poem. Yes, do forward the post. Does your former roommate right poetry too? I’d like to read his work if he does.

  4. August 27, 2014 9:46 am

    Hey there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my zynga group?
    There’s a lot of folks that I think would really appreciate
    your content. Please let me know. Thanks

Trackbacks

  1. Blog-o-versary! Look who’s 4! | Writing in a Tree

Leave a Reply

