Skip to content

EVENT: neo-griot diary

November 1, 2013

neo_griot_poster

neo-griot: a west African storyteller/musician/historian dealing with critical commentary of their contemporary conditions. a neo-griot employs technology (TEXT/SOUND/LIGHT) into their findings and storytelling.

I have been due for a show now. So when Itah Sadu from A Different Booklist asked me to perform as part of their Black Book Affair Convention, I jumped at the chance. For a while, I’ve been grappling with the idea of what it means to be a storyteller. I’ve always admired griots, oral storytellers,  and poets who deliberately fuse music with their words. The more stories I seeks to unravel, the more organic I want them to appear. I’m less interested in flashy presentations but I gravitate towards ancient means of passing information, allowing the every(wo)man be a historian and build community together with words.

As some of you know, I like to post entries of journal explorations, drawings, phrases, poems and revelations that are silly, political, ignorant or enlightening. A diary, or journal as I like to call it, is a writer’s best friend. It kills writer’s block, documents my thought process and is a playground for all the fruitful and not so fruitful ideas to bloom.

I’m hoping with this show I can practice my long-rehearsed sessions with an instrument and poem (either guitar or piano) and share some new works (although 3 Cities poems will certainly make a cameo) with my community.

Hope to see you all there!

Where: 918 Bathurst Gallery, on the corner of Barton, 2pm
When: Saturday November 3, 2013
Who: Yours truly and you too!
How much: a fiver ($5)

Leave a Reply

