Skip to content

ARTICLE: Emancipation Remixed

August 10, 2013

Greetings family! I’ve been itching to do more journalistic, creative non-fiction and last weekend I had a perfect opportunity to dig my teeth into a story that’s close to my heart. Check out this article I wrote for Say Hi, a really cool social media forum for sharing exciting moments around the world.

emannicaption

[Caribana is] not just about the soca (although I love my soca), its a time for nations in the West Indies to be fiercely nationalistic after years of being colonized. The emancipation element was something always overlooked after decades of prepping myself for Carnival.

A more intense and I would argue, more meaningful event took place the Wednesday just before Caribana. I boarded the Freedom Train.

 

Full article can be read here: https://sayhi.co/moments/wjqf7f2e

Leave a Reply

