Skip to content

Plate of Food Returns!

June 2, 2013

Whitney-PlateOfPoetry04

Last summer I tried something a little daring, a little crazy and a lot of fun. I organized and performed a show called A Plate of Food with a Side of Poetry. At the time I was living in a really small space but I wanted to invite my friends and family over for a big dinner. So I fused my two favourite things, food and poetry, into an event. Check out this video from last year’s feast.

Keep your calendars open for August 17th as Plate of Food Returns, showcasing new written material, organic discussions about gender politics, race and identity and HOMEMADE food by yours truly. Cover is $5, I’ll be selling copies of 3 Cities and the anthology The Great Black North (of which I am honoured to be included in) will also be made available for purchase.

As usually we well be dining at Accents Bookstore, 1790 Eglington Ave West. Veggie/Vegan and Dairy free options available. Hope you all can make it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. anitaabbasi permalink
    June 5, 2013 3:30 am

    You mean “Gluten-free” right? ;) Also, can I donate some food to your event?

Leave a Reply

