Skip to content

POEM: portia

May 21, 2013

Image from Radio-Canada website

Here’s a piece I wrote about Portia White. I like it short and sweet but please offer feedback if you think I should extend it. Enjoy!

o

portia

o

singing to her majesty unaware of your

majesty, you my dear are the real queen

didn’t need to breakdown a people

for the jewels on your head

on your head, in your heart holds

the most precious jewels of all

 o

black Portia white

black Portia white

 o

to me you’re just Portia

just perfect, just right

4 Comments leave one →
  1. anitaabbasi permalink
    May 21, 2013 3:59 pm

    I love it! but you may want to add to it. “black Portia white; black Portia white; to me you’re just Portia; just perfect; just right” – sounds like it could be a refrain to a song and so that’s why I think it needs a few more stanzas…that’s just me though…

  2. May 21, 2013 4:44 pm

    I love it too but I agree with Anita. A little more about why she’s just perfect; just right for YOU. When did you first become aware of Portia? What was the catalyst for your connection? Did you change something about yourself because of her? Hope these questions are of some help! Peace and blessings, Michele

    • May 22, 2013 5:58 pm

      thanks for reading Michele! totally agree, I think exploring the catalyst would add a bit more meat to the piece. appreciate the feedback

Leave a Reply

