Skip to content

youtube…because everyone’s doing it

May 11, 2013

youtube_channel

Whitney French Writes, and occassionally performs.

As a poet and writer I used to be TERRIFIED of performing. Me and a mic stand were life-long enemies. But ever since having my first gig with a full set at Ellington’s Cafe, my confidence grew. Not only that, I began understanding the art of performing: I became much more aware of my voice, my breath, my awkwardly nervous twitches.

With each nerve-wrecking show, I got (a little bit) better. I’ve been trying to record more and more of my performances, at first for myself to see my improvement, but now, for others to see and comment, recommend suggestions, even like!

CHECK OUT MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL (if you dare!)

Over and out!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2013 3:28 pm

    i think there is a point awhile back when I just stopped caring what people thought when I would peform :) …..it was at that point when I realized my performance was better because I wasn’t so much trying to give people what I thought they wanted…but i gave them what I was best at doing :)

    • May 11, 2013 3:37 pm

      yooooooo culturalmonk, I’m on that tip! I used to (and still do) very much care what people though of my performing skills (or lack there of). Now I’m striving to strip away those thoughts of judgement and just calm myself, find my true self beyond the coaching and acting and do what I do. I love how you were performing better when you didn’t try to please. Appreciate the comment, see you around the blog-o-sphere again, man.

      — W

Trackbacks

  1. Happy New Year 2014 | Writing in a Tree

Leave a Reply

