Skip to content

Reading a Book a Week!

April 15, 2013

My friend Jorges aka Black Coffee Poet are challenging each other to commit to reading a book a week. It’s pretty simple and its a great way to get me focused on reading. I read a lot but I usually get so busy, read for work or a project and find I have less and less time to read for pleasure. Also, I’ve noticed much of my down time is gobbled up by Facebook, TV and day dreaming (the latter can be very necessary). I’m much more aware of how I want to spend my time, in books, in stories. The more I read, the more I write.

We started March 18th and I’ve been solid with a book a week since. It can be any book, any genre and size. So far I’ve read:
o
Octavia Butler’s Parable of the Sower;
Utterances and Incantations: women, poetry, dub edited by Althea Prince;
Into That Darkness, Steven Price;
A Raisin in the Sun, Lorraine Hansberry;
Blacks Don’t Bowl, V.S. Haynes.
o

Maybe reading a book a week is too daunting for some, (or not daunting enough) but I want to challenge my fellow blog-readers to set realistic reading goals. There are always books we’re “always wanted to read” so nothing is stopping you. I thought I didn’t have enough time, but then I found myself reading on the subway, reading while cooking, reading while walking (dangerous and not to be encouraged!) and reading any second I’m free. I write about my love for writing so often I forget that my first passion, my first escape and my first real introduction to the world is through reading. So…I’m stoked about my book-a-week adventure and grateful to Jorges for proposing it.

What are you reading? What do you think I should read?

Over and out

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2013 3:22 am

    I’ve been reading on my kindle while using the elliptical. Doubled my time in the gym since then cz I’m usually so into the book, I don’t get bored of exercising.

Trackbacks

  1. Happy New Year 2014 | Writing in a Tree

Leave a Reply

