Skip to content

One Year Later: Sonnet + Cinquain Challenge

April 6, 2013

So last year for National Poetry Month I totally punked out (totally!) when my friend Anita challenged me to write a sonnet. I could make up excuses about being too busy with 3 Cities coming together but let’s not lie friends, I just didn’t write a sonnet. I chickened out. So I’m going to woman up. Knuckle down. Write a sonnet. You all are holding me accountable.

The year before, when this poetry duel started, we started off writing sestinas: one of the scariest forms (at least for me). Only good things happened afterwards because that modest little sestina found its way into the anthology The Great Black North: Contemporary African Canadian Poetry edited by . Not too shabby.

But this year, dear Anita, I challenge you to a new poem: the cinquain!

I’ll have to do two for the price of one, but I’m up to it. For those who don’t know the cinquain, its a poem with 5 lines and can have various rhyming schemes: ababb, abaab or abccb. I’ll have to brush up on the details, but there you have it. Out in the internet worlds. The  heat is on! Do I gotta run to a used book store and find myself a rhyming dictionary? Most likely.

Do you accept the challenge Ms. Abbasi?

And for all your poetry lovers, there’s heaps upon heaps of poetry events going on in Toronto in April.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. anitaabbasi permalink
    April 9, 2013 12:57 am

    Game on, Ms. French. You have your work cut out for you this month ;)

Trackbacks

  1. Ancient Whisper | Writing in a Tree

Leave a Reply

