Skip to content

VLOG: It’s about Community NOT Competition!

March 18, 2013

My dear friend Black Coffee Poet, asked me to go a VLOG (a video blog post) to talk about poets working as a community and support system. He was commissioned to write a poem and asked for my critical eye. I was so honoured he asked me to look over his work before he submitted. I have a very select few people I share my pre-published work to and I think that has to do with a mild paranoia that other artists share: if we reveal our work, we’re exposing ourselves. Particularly being an artist of colour, there’s a ridiculous but very real fear of being “the best black female Canadian poet and there’s no space for anyone else!”. It’s not that cut-throat, or rather, it doesn’t have to be that cut-throat. Or that silly, for that matter. Check out the VLOG and also blackcoffeepoet.com for some amazing articles, videos and reviews. And tell me what you think!

Over and out!

Leave a Reply

