Skip to content

MY Black History Month: Ads

February 26, 2013

I (occasionally) turn on the TV, or read a magazine and I don’t see so many faces that look like mine. There are some, often airbrushed and strategically placed but there are few black people in advertisement especially those that embrace a sense of pride. I didn’t live in the 70s so who am I to romanticize about a time I never knew? Still, there’s something electrifying, bold and empowering about the ads below that resonates with me. I don’t give advertising much credit as the objective is to sell a product but the media, whether we like it or not, influences our identity. I imagine these ads and others like them were also airbrushed and strategic but back then being “Black and Proud” was hip and cool, where as now you’re seen as a dated even radical. Again, the “black on purpose” pin challenges the idea of expressing pride. Enjoy the ads from the vault, folks.

Which one is your favourite? Can you guess mine?

Images are from Retronaut and Found in Mom’s Basement

Over and out!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2013 3:25 am

    Greetings radiant Whitney with the glowing aura…

    It’s Abbi & Kayla your Ebonite brother and sister from last nights enlightening “Queering Black History” event – I pray that you had a wonderful day…

    Btw, thank you for holding sacred space an sharing your ebullient essence with us.

    Until the next time that we are able to hold sacred space together once again, may your days be filed with magic, mystery, and the courage to embrace the impossible.

    Ashe, Hotep, Namaste ;)

    Oh… Btw. I think that your favorite ad is the “Together Colt 45” one, because you strike me as a sister who really likes here malt liquor! ;p

    • March 5, 2013 2:43 am

      Greetings Abbi and Kayla! Thanks for popping by and visiting me in the blog-o-sphere! Thank you for befriending me and sharing your space and time with me. Together IS my favourite

Trackbacks

  1. MY Black History Month: Recap 2013 | Writing in a Tree

Leave a Reply

