Skip to content

Question: What Art-form Do You Practice?

January 29, 2013

whitney-french-hand-writing

I was asked to write four sentences to answer that question for a promotional piece. I spat at something about fiction being an escape from reality or something along those lines. Very Creative Writing 101. I got lazy. Then out of the blue a few days later I came up with these four sentences. I feel they explain my practice clearer.

“I practice the art of storytelling, a form of documentation more focused on truth than facts. Storytelling allows me to transfer feelings, attitudes and ideas to another time.

As a species capable of self-reflection, we must believe that something can be learned from our history. I practice this craft so that one day my writing will celebrate miracles that go unnoticed, that it depicts characters that sleep in the soul.”

Check out the answer to more questions about my writing here.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. treehugger permalink
    February 1, 2013 3:02 am

    Oh I see now..thanks teacher!

  2. February 16, 2013 10:21 pm

    I love this idea! After I saw what you had done, I gave it a different spin. I neeedd to do a 3rd quarter writing assessment so we brainstormed spring as our topic and then we used the Felt Board to make a picture full of spring things. Then we did a word web to describe spring and to write some of the things that we had put in our felt board picture. While the kids were working on their webs, I emailed the picture to myself and made a class set of the picture on my printer. Each child was given writing paper and in the place where they normally draw, I had them glue down their copy of the felt board picture. Then each child wrote their own sentences about the picture using words from the webs that we made together! My class loved the whole process! I was pretty excited too!! So glad you shared the idea. Thank you so much!

Trackbacks

  1. Happy Blog-o-versary…Year 3! | Writing in a Tree

Leave a Reply

