Skip to content

PHOTOGRAPHIC JOURNAL: So, two Italians and a Black girl walk into a greenhouse

June 4, 2012

My amigos Koy and Devon brought me to a greenhouse at the Allan Gardens randomly on a beautiful Monday afternoon and I LOST MY MIND! Everything was stunning. The only travesty was that I had my camera phone, not as wicked as my real camera but I’ll share the photos regardless and you can infuse more colour and sharpness with your imagination.

Look at those purple stems! Work that imagination dear blog readers, the stems were practically glowing!

I have this same plant (learning the name, promise) in my kitchen. Except its WAY bigger at the greenhouse.

Violet bells, all in a row.

i

These are my new best friends.

I’m giving the willow tree nose kisses. Did I mention that I love tree?

My two Italians! The Santillo brothers found blue bells. Great discovery boys.

Stunning.

I got mad excited about spotting these Tiger Lilies. They were hiding out in the back. So beautiful and yet, so modest.

So we stumbled across the pond and found some delightful friends. The goldfish were exceptionally friendly.

Oh hello Donatello. Fancy seeing you here.

In the other pond, we found a massive Michelangelo. He took probably twenty minutes to get into the water. It was gripping.

Hands down this big fella is listed on my top three favourite trees of all time. He’s a Norfolk Island Pine (Arauceria Leterophylla) and man are his needles a phylla. They feel so soft and he bellows so gracefully in the wind. It’s like gentle tentacles, so very loveable.

I know what you’re thinking.

This is what it looks like when its matured and opened. Pretty cool.

Good golly Miss Molly, you are one gorgeous flower!

Blindingly belle.

i

I’ve never seen leaves this purple before. Use your imagination, it was startling purple, bordering on neon. We had to touch it to see if it was real.

o

Break time! We found the coolest bench to rest at. I let the flowers touch my soul, multiple times.

Overgrowth!

A tree door! I want one for my apartment!

So young Devon gets credit for the greenhouse’s most epic moment of all time. He found this amazing flower. Here it is when it’s budding. He’s touching the spring.

Spring close up! It’s like a Go-Go-Gadget flower.

And this is the same flower when it’s opened! EPIC! C’mon now, if you’ve seen a more amazing flower in your life, may I be struck by lightening. I can’t get over how captivating this beast is. IT’S A BEAST!

I don’t even care what the real name of this plant is. I dub you ‘Alien Fingers.’

Hey girl! You golden to me.

So we went to the desert section of the greenhouse. It was over 45 degrees up in that mother. But the cacti were so worth the excessive sweat (at least excessive sweat for my part, phew!)

JELLY BEANS! They aren’t prickly, these cacti are so cute!

YUMMY!

Koy found a jelly on the floor. Not for eating folks.

Fuzzy cacti

It’s like the cacti wanted to be one of those underwater coral but was sentenced to a life of heat and dry air and isolation. I feel you brother.

At this point in the journey, I felt like I was in a Super Mario level. You know, level 2 when the whole world is a desert and pyramid blocks jump out of nowhere to kill you. Yeah, like that.

What an appropriate name for this big guy. And they were huge. Like the size of a barrel.

Honestly, I’m like in Yoshi’s Island for the SNES right now. Wandering the terrane with baby Mario on my back. Trippy.

THIS versus…

…THIS!

Ouch! The boys couldn’t help put touch. Which is ridiculous!

So what an unexpectedly amazing Monday greenhouse trip! Thanks boys for showing me around. Hope you enjoyed a pretty epic photographic journal.

Over and out!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2012 4:00 am

    wow! this is right near me and i haven’t been in far too long. thanks for reminding me! and it was awesome running into you today! <3

    • June 14, 2012 2:01 pm

      Amazing bumping into you today too. Sometimes we get caught up in our cyber-worlds (well I do anyway) and you’re just as awesomely badass in person as you are online. We should link up soon, swap poems and the like. :)

Trackbacks

  1. Happy Blog-o-versary…Year 3! | Writing in a Tree

Leave a Reply

