Skip to content

VIDEO: Not a Great Day

April 29, 2012

One third of my book says otherwise:

So I laughed a lot. It’s so silly and so the opposite of my own personal experience with my hometown BUT I’m sure a lot of the population, mainly white population, would agree it would be a great day to be in Bradford.

And I recognize that analyzing and targetting a cheesy small town promotion video is too easy, but the thing that kills me is the dude on 1:32 that says “the people, it’s very ethnic.”

CRINGE!

This video is NOT very ‘ethnic’ seeing as there are count ’em: one, two people of colour speaking and a group of Mexican migrant workers cheering ‘today!’ (because that balances out things)

Also, I HATE the word ethnic. And as a writer, I shouldn’t hate words, but I really hate it. Ethnic from what? Ethnic from your Anglo-Saxon town developed by Dutch settlers who claimed stolen land? I should stop myself. I should go back to laughing. There’s no point in ranting. I just needed to get that out.

I repeat.

It is Not a Great Day to be even slightly associated with Bradford.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary permalink
    May 3, 2012 3:03 am

    Ouch. Ethnic doesn’t have to mean “of colour”.

    • May 3, 2012 1:04 pm

      It’s soooo true! I don’t know what I was expecting from a Bradford promo, but I still cringe.

Leave a Reply

