Skip to content

sharing the blankets

March 14, 2012

It’s my little sister’s birthday today. I wrote this poem after years of sharing a bed with her. sleeping is very intimate and sometimes you wonder how much you know about a person, or can know about a person, just by watching them sleep. 

 

The moon is my nightlight, my little me

would say, and the plug-in smiley face

would be tucked away for

the next child.

I

There’s no such things as o’clocks in my life,

the big hand and the twelve don’t kiss goodnight

like they do in fairytales.

I

An hour only grows knee deep

and the day crawls across my nose

preventing me from sleep.

I

Tick-tick-tocking, my sister

shaves her legs, wears stockings

dry skin beneath her nails

turned purple, and a blanket slips away

 I

In time, I say

I’ll see exactly

who you are. My mind’s done

counting the seconds, far from starry-eyed

sisterly snores. We shared this bed

as the moon shines

as naked as her smile.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2012 6:09 pm

    “Do not be afraid to go out on a limb … that’s where the fruit is”

    love that! Is that yours? I am following!

    @kellie_elmore

Leave a Reply

