Skip to content

Whitney the Workshopper!

February 5, 2012

I went to school for Creative Writing. Maybe it was a mistake, maybe not (too soon and too broke to tell) but in the program, there was a lot of workshops. At first, they seemed like a strange form of torture: desks in a circle, your classmates reading your work, you’re not allow to comment AT ALL while one by one, they rip your writing to shreds. You see we were graded on how we ‘critiqued’ one another, so the meaner the better.

Sharing writing was the last thing I wanted to do once I got out of school. And then I came to Womenz Wordz. As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, this writing circle facilitated by Motion gathered talented female writers together to share their works and collaborate on larger projects. This seems more in the spirit of workshopping. Our writing circle ran for over a year and still continues through the Womenz Wordz blog.

So when I was asked to run a creative writing workshop with St. Alban Boys and Girls Club, I was excited. And really scared. There was no way I was going to ‘torture’ my participants, nor recreate the magic of Womenz Wordz. So I planned. I wrote up a curiculum and researched and read and observed other creative writing workshops to prepare for the first session. Needless to say, my best laid plans fell flat on their faces.

Once I got to my space and met my crew, I ended up throwing out a big chunk of my ‘lesson plan’ and followed my gut. A made a very easy goal for myself: create a safe space for discussion and sharing and encourage writing. We talked about expectations, what they expect from the workshop and what I expect from them. From there on it was simple. Plus the calibre of writing in the group is solid. It went over well.

Whitney…THE WORKSHOPPER! I’m gonna push to do more of these (hoping to run a workshop at the Toronto Public Library by the spring). I really like it, I’ll be fill my blog-family on our upcoming movements. Over and out!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kristin permalink
    February 12, 2012 3:04 pm

    Nice stuff, Whitney. St. Alban’s is a good place for that too.

    • February 14, 2012 6:00 pm

      Thanks for the support Kristin. I like it there. If you know of any young writers, send them my way via email. We may change the workshop date from Wednesdays to Mondays.

Trackbacks

  1. Whitney the Workshopper: June Callwood Centre « Writing in a Tree

Leave a Reply

