Skip to content

POEM: Inspired by six-year-old me!

January 26, 2012

trouble is the worst thing

that can happen to a kid

being in it

around it

being called it

i was out of it whenever I could

but john makes trouble hard to avoid

a poem inspired by my six-year-old self, to be featured in 3 cities!

the remarkable language of a six year old girl

to an old friend

his teeth buzz in the classroom

mrs. gorecki shushhhs me

and the vibrations stop.
I

we start again and

rotate around his thought

like a moon rock

I

john

i

isn’t a physical quantum

although he has blond hair

i

he grew up in a home

where ideas were met with violence

but he’s safe now with me.

i

he told me

i am me,

no one else

can do what i do

can see what i see

not even him.

i

we talk by buzzing through our teeth

conversations amassing

one solid shape

containing all parts of the thought

our exact ideas

photocopied by sound

i

somehow i knew that this

is exactly how he sees the world

what if we could all be each other

if only for a moment?

i

he wants to share with me

thoughts I’m afraid to hear:

about trouble

about lies

about death

i

there’s a tree stump

cornered against a fence

where i sit alone

processing john’s ideas

tracing the rings of the trunk

with my middle finger

i

i thought i heard him once

when i hadn’t seen him in a while

it was just some kid

blowing on wax paper

i

with john, it’s possible

to have a real imaginary friend

to unlock a superior method

of communication

i

thought

as simple and as complex

as a smooth rock

placed into the palm

of a person’s mind

consciousness perfected

i

now everyone

can do what i do,

can see what i see

we all hover over the same thought

and just think

i

someone peed on this carpet

where we’re sitting, exchanging alternate

universes (long before I knew what a

universe was)

i

and the vibrations stop

when the teacher whispers concerns

into my mother’s ear.

i

some days i wish i were

imaginary too.

Leave a Reply

