Skip to content

POEM: gradients of black

October 14, 2011

Tutoring English is becoming more and more of a saving grace for me than for the kids I work with. I get to cheat and write while I work, adding to my repertoire and they get to critique my pieces. It’s super interesting to see the stuff of mine they like and they don’t like. Here’s a poem I wrote for one of the exercises about gradients of a colour. I chose black.

gradients of black

I

coals make marks

across black dirt

smoke billows up a dusty

old train track

black-

ended soot

charred meat burnt

bit of black by my feet, bold

broken black top, flat

tire.

a line of night dark

fire

crack smacked

behind eyelids

shadows slack up against

a stark breath

of death.
i

the silence

is still

and black is its friend

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

