Skip to content

Word on the Street Festival!

September 13, 2011

Summer’s not over yet! And while we still have warm weather, I’m gearing up for one of the biggest book festivals in Toronto the annual Word on the Street Festival. September 25 (that’s a Sunday!) is when the page-turning goes down. Last year I had a blast hearing readings from local writers, buying books (like my book shelf can handle another book) and meeting interesting like-minded book lovers.

I’ll be working this year and have very scheduled breaks but there’s still a handful of things I want to see when I’m not manning the NOW HEAR THIS! table. One of the most anticipated sections of the festival for me at least is the new “This Is Not The Shakespeare Stage”. Usually WOTS has an award-winning books section, a magazine section, a literacy section (where I’ll be!) but I’m see something different in the programming. The “Not Shakespeare” Stage cracks open traditional reading genres and explores the realms of spoken word, science fiction, youth open mic, comic and graphic novel writing and more. Plus Eytan Crouton, a ridiculously talented spoken word artist who has never ceased to amaze me,  is opening up the stage @ 11:45am. Sure to be a good one.

Enjoy one of the last lovely Sunday afternoons left this year at the Word on the Street Festival. If you’re near Literacy Lane, look out for me at booth LL2. See you there!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

