Skip to content

Irene’s Tree

September 9, 2011

I went on vacation (hence the couple of blog-less weeks) to Pennsylvania, New Jersey and New York to visit family. I had no idea a hurricane was planning to travel the same route on the same week. I am blessed that my family and friends are safe, but I did get a nice taste of some hurricane weather. There was a tree on my aunt’s lawn that was split in half from the hurricane and crashed onto the neighbours’ roof. No one was hurt but boy did I get a lot of pictures.

Yes the tree looks huge but that was only HALF of the maple. There’s an even larger sycamore on the other side of the lawn.

The damage. At 4 in the morning I woke up to a BOOM! My aunt described it as God smashing our two houses together. Kinda looks like it too.

The other half, and a beautiful split down the middle. Tried to get a closer picture but by that time…

…the tree guys started moving in. Here’s when things got good.

THE CRANE!

THE SAWS!

THE ORANGE HAT!

THE BIG CUT!

And of course…THE LIFT!

Easy does it. It was insane watching them manoeuvre around the hydro wires. It’s a small street too, so not a lot of room for error.

The woodchipper. Such a large tree can be ground into such small particles. No wonder it was so loud.

Here’s a full view of the crane fully extended.

And my family onlooking from a safe distance.

There were other cool things I did on my vacation but this was certainly the most eventful, for me at least.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2011 1:58 pm

    Superb informatoin here, ol’e chap; keep burning the midnight oil.

    • October 13, 2011 2:41 pm

      Thanks for visiting the site. If you liked Irene’s Tree, check out the other treespotting photos.

Leave a Reply

