Skip to content

POEM: Brad

July 18, 2011

So I just moved to Toronto (yay for moving up in the world) but it was huge transition for me leaving my hometown for good. Like a lot of writers, I feel as though I have a complex relationship with the town in which I grew up in.

In my writing circle, I was encouraged to write poems about the three cities that have most affected me: Bradford, Montreal and Toronto. With patience, guidance and a lot of butt kicking, I’m working towards a final manuscript for a collection of poetry entitled ‘3 cities’.

Last Tuesday I performed the following piece at Acoustic Soul Open Mic. It compliments my feelings about moving out of Bradford. Enjoy!

brad

you raised me

but i returned to you

older and furious

I
the lies

the manipulation

you twisted my childhood

into something not all together whole.

I

we’d love each other under

summer stars

staggering softly between the smell

of dried grass.

I

but i’ve outgrown you

blown you up to be this

big scary place

where black girls cry alone in the dark.

I

outgrown you

showed you that there is a

big world bubbling beyond you

and your boundaries.

I

you’ve pushed me

its always been just

you and me

in the middle of nowhere.

I

i’ve run out of air to curse you with.

you’ve changed too.

all the shit i gave you about

not being town-enough for me

you’ve beefed up into a real city

and i hardly recognize you anymore.

I

there was a time when i’d never

want to see you

or come back to you

your name twisted my face sour

all day long.

I

but i miss your smell

your secret hiding spots,

bring me back to when

i’d circle your parking lots

when i was too young

to ride your roads.

I

you fed me onions off

a cargo truck once, in the middle of the

street and i came back

with a black garbage bag

for more of your sweet veg.

I

you made me feel safe

when the big city scared me

your silence blanketed me

when the noise was too much.

I

i’ve outgrown you

but it’s not easy letting go
of you, i can’t stay anymore

you know it too, it’s why you

whistle when i walk by

I

promise to visit

but we both know

i can’t be yours anymore.

Oh, and be sure to check the blog regularly for updates about ‘3 cities’ launch date. Big t’ings!

Leave a Reply

