Skip to content

Kingston Light – Poetry with Grandma in the Sun

July 9, 2011

Poetry is meant to be recited. The more poetry I  read, the more I realize how important this is. I  bought a spectacular book of poetry  Old Friend,  We Made This for You by Yannick Marshall and  Yemi Aganga. Their book reflect the Pan-African  perspective through strong poetic narratives which  are enticing, powerful, shocking and graceful. For  a comprehensive review read what Open Book Toronto thought about the collection. There were a  few poems I had to read aloud but I have been  begging my grandmother to read something for me  ever since one afternoon when she recited Lord  Byron’s Mazeppa from memory. Here’s a video of  my Grandma reading “Kingston Light” by Yannick  Marshall.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2013 11:18 pm

    This is my first time visiit at here and i aam genuinely impressed to read alll aat single
    place.

Trackbacks

  1. POEM: ginger ale « Writing in a Tree
  2. Happy Blog-iversary: Year Two! « Writing in a Tree

Leave a Reply

