Skip to content

MUSIC: Shameless Summer Tunes

June 4, 2011

June’s here and after long months of hibernation I am proud to make this Shameless Summer Tunes mixtape. Note that this mixtape is shameless, meaning the cheese-factor of some of these beats are at an utmost high. And yes, many of the tunes have the word “summer” in it, but some just remind me of driving with the windows down, or lounging on the deck or nodding to the radio while eat a popcicle. Be sure to check out the Inspirational Mixtape if you like what you hear. Pop it in, pump it, come on!

A SIDE

1. The Time of the Season – The Zombies
2. Green Onions – Booker T & the MGs
3. Summer of 69 – Brian Adams
4. Boys of Summer – Don Henley (amazing music video too!)
5. On the Boardwalk – The Drifters
6. Wouldn’t it be Nice – Beach Boys
7. Summer in the City – Lovin’ Spoonful
8. Kansas City – Wilbert Harrison (Fats Domino does an ill version too but I grew up on this)
9. Summer – War
10. Itsy Bitsy Teeny Weeny Yellow Polka Dot Bikini – Byran Hyland (yeah, I went there)
11. Summer Breeze – Seal and Crofts (personal fav)
12. Everyday People – Sly and the Family Stone

Flip cassette

SIDE B

1. Hot in Herre – Nelly
2. Steal My Sunshine – LEN
3. Summertime – Dj Jazzy Jeff and the Fresh Prince (DRUMS PLEASE!)
4. Summer girls – LFO (Chinese food makes me sick)
5.  Kokomo – Beach Boys
6. Cruel Summer – Bananarama (Sorry Ace of Base, these girls kill it!)
7. The Tide is High – Blondie
8. Island in the Sun – Weezer (My favourite music videos growing up: there’s a cat air drumming!)
9. Iron Bazodee – Square One & Alison Hinds (it wouldn’t be summer without some calypso)
10. In the Summer Time – Mungo Jerry
11. School’s Out for Summer – Alice Cooper (insert air guitar)
12. Summer Loving – John Travolta and Olivia Newton John (the icing on the cheesiest of cheesecake!)

Which side were you groovin’ to more?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. anitaabbasi permalink
    June 12, 2011 7:18 pm

    Remember how, for the longest time, you hated Summer Lovin’? Remember those crazy bygone days?

    • June 12, 2011 10:56 pm

      My taste has refined in my old age

    • February 16, 2013 1:39 am

      Weird. I was at work tonight and rerbmeemed that song which I heard only once on CBC radio as a kid. It pops up in my head about once every 5 years, and every time it’s hilarious. I remember finding it laugh-out-loud funny as a kid. And you remember the lyrics exactly as I do. I googled everything possible including these lyrics and this is the only thing I’ve found. So, you’re not alone. Who are you anyway?

Trackbacks

  1. Happy Blog-iversary: Year Two! « Writing in a Tree
  2. MUSIC: Shamelessly Sad Songs « Writing in a Tree

Leave a Reply

