Skip to content

PHOTOGRAPHIC JOURNAL: Midnight Construction

November 16, 2010

In addition to my love for Mother Nature, trees and all things natural, I am again and again struck in awe by the beauty of man-made machines. The juxtaposition of urban and rural, and the space where both concrete and field coexist still baffles me. I’ve blogged about about it more than once. I have never had the honour of driving a bulldozer, a dump truck or a steam roller but one night, on one of my typical November jaunts, I spotted some ghostly creatures.

I tried to take a picture of me in the SuperPac but I couldn’t get the timer to work with the flash. Plus, it’d be evidence of tresspassing if I was in the photo. It’s better this way.

Usually where I live there are mainly agricultural tractors. It was almost eerie seeing a steam roller.

Dirty tires. Favourite things.

Way cool loader.

Never said I was a good listener.

Up close and personal with a John Deere Diecast dozer.

And a tree among the Tonka sandbox. Spooky. Every midnight walk spent stalking and documenting unattended heavy machinery should end with a bare-branch tree.

And yes I realize it is hypocritical to glorify machines that are built to destroy forestry and ecosystems for the sake of urban development seeing as I’ve dedicated my blog to trees. Conflicted, I am an admirer of both sides of the coin. Any debaters?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Dan permalink
    November 19, 2010 6:06 pm

    Great pics Whit. Reminds me of my obsession with construction vehicles…only at night. Where were these taken?

    • November 20, 2010 2:55 pm

      In Bradford, they are expanding the road near my house, I had to check it out. Nighttime seemed to be the sneakiest time to be sleuthing

Leave a Reply

