Skip to content

QUESTION: What do you write about?

July 27, 2010

Stupid question, or is it? I feel very squirmy answering this one whenever I hint to someone that I “write”. Although most people are expecting some very specific genre or they are just shooting the breeze, here is a convoluted answer to an annoying question.

I write about, or more accurately put, things I am most interested in exploring through my writing include:

-people

-a story that sticks

-creating life/capturing life

-children and the elderly and non-stereotypical deceptions of their wisdom

-rhythms in speech (usually by harbouring different voices)

-pain

-magic in the mundane

-pointillism

-believable setting

-child-like dialogues

-misleading protagonists

-performance within spoken word

happiness actualized in interesting media (not self help books)

-universal understandings simplified

colours in nature

-occupation culture

-capturing my love for trees

-being within, near, or outside of an image

-politica

-revolutionary writings (exploring them, not necessarily writing them)

-intensity condensed in the short story

-haiku

-image and text embedded within one another

-grammar (particularly strong verbs)

-contradiction in characters

-character driven fiction

-lyrics

-family sagas (duties, loves, obligations, regrets)

– found poetry like slaughter daughter

-grey kids

-peripheral subcultures (graffiti artists, miners, monks, archeologists and the like)

-myself (let’s be honest)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. anitaabbasi permalink
    July 31, 2010 11:23 pm

    – people
    – how women relate to women and other things women are supposed to relate to, but don’t necessarily…
    – pain
    – freedom through a groove, beat or song
    – the surreal, the inexplicable = existential horror
    – accidents (physical ones and happenstances) as well as coincidences
    – fate
    – interpersonal connections, particularly with those you’d least expect
    – …and since you admitted it too…myself. Have you read my blog and the amount of I’s that I use? If you haven’t, please read my blog ;)

    • February 17, 2013 12:37 am

      Storybook perfect. I can alaerdy see you standing right where the driveway curves, train flowing behind you.I’ve planned 2 weddings. The most important things are your vows and your shoes. Seriously, buy comfortable shoes. I used ballroom dance shoes, which were comfortable and dye-able. I didn’t take them off all day.

  2. August 1, 2010 3:17 am

    – how women relate to women and other things women are supposed to relate to, but don’t necessarily…

    How could I forget!? Yes you do use “I” a lot in your blog. It’s embarrassing really … but then, who doesn’t?

Leave a Reply

