Skip to content

MUSIC: Inspirational Mixtape

July 11, 2010

Nine times out of ten, I am listening to music while I’m writing. The only exception to this is when I am startled from my sleep at 3:00 am to write down some idea that I am convinced is genius (that is, until I wake up and realize it was no good). Otherwise, my mood, my thought process and my writing is heavily influenced by the music I listen to. It only seems right to explore my musical background and reflect on how it collides with my writing background.

Music was the first art-form introduced to me. Before writing, before visual arts, before dance, there was music. I was raised with a speaker by my head. My dad’s a DJ so my first education was one in music. He listened to everything and as a result his daughters all have very eclectic tastes.  As an extension of my musical exposure, I took piano lessons for seven (dreadful) years. I love the piano, hated the lessons. I also taught myself to play the guitar. Next on my list is drums and violin. I’ve also dabbled in amateur djing, singing (karaoke!), record collecting and song writing.

But if I were to share my musical collection (essentially a copy and paste of my iTunes playlist) it wouldn’t be representative of my scope of music. Also, when I listen to a song while writing, whether it is background music or I go out of my way to choose a specific song to help me get into the process, it’s rarely the stuff that makes me jump up and scream “Yo that’s my JAM!” Sometimes the lyrics are overlapping my own thought process and trigger something in me to create something of my own. Other times the beat and melody are irresistible and place me in a semi-conscious state where I’m more free to write without stopping to edit.

And so, here’s my mixtape of songs that have directly or indirectly inspired my writing, that being a major development of a long-term project, a spring-board for a short poem, or a mantra that I rewrite over and over again into my notebook. Enjoy! There’s much more tracks to come.

1. Deep Forest – Ceu Do Brasil

2. Shad – Old Prince Still Lives at Home

3. Maya Filipic – Stories from Emona III

4. Explosions in the Sky – Your Hand in Mine

5. Common – Aquarius

6. Damien Rice – Toffee Pop

7. The Unseen Guest- Listen My Son

8. Erykah Badu – Bag Lady

9. Taken By Trees – To Lose Someone

10. Yoko Kanno and the Seatbelts – Goodnight Julia aka Space Lion

11. Bloc Party – Two More Years

12. David Guetta – Atomic Food

13. Shades of Culture – What It Is (sorry no link, but still a wicked track)

14. Elle Lefant – Postage/ Hostage

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 11, 2010 9:22 pm

    I will make time to listen to these…what lovely way to write. Thanks for sharing :)

Leave a Reply

