Skip to content

POEM: For the Painting Above My Bed

July 6, 2010

scraping across a red road

a white outline of moon

chalks out a half circle

among golden paint lines

blue blemish

kisses the oranging canvas

gray lines converge

across a layer of light

red sun

framed

crudly cropped — casting

an opinion

without a circle’s fullness

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Alexis permalink
    July 6, 2010 6:04 pm

    “Casting/ an opinion/ without a circle’s fullness”: There’s such a lovely playfullness to those lines.

    I love poems that are based on pictures! Something about them, I guess it’s the transference across a visual medium to a written one, really strikes me. There’s this Spanish philosopher, who’s name I can’t recall, who writes this essay on one of Velasquez’s Idiots and compares it to the Spanish Civil war. It’s so striking how a picture can transform and inform a work of writing.

  2. Leonie permalink
    July 7, 2010 1:02 am

    Nice! I’ve never seen the painting, obviously, but I’ve definitely got a picture of it in my head now :) The last three lines also add an extra something to think about for me, more specifically “casting an opinion without a circle’s fullness” – that metaphor really captured my interest.

  3. July 7, 2010 3:06 am

    Intense, striking images…one word, beautiful!!!

  4. dustus permalink
    July 8, 2010 7:06 pm

    Great texture and design to the abstract and stanzas. My favorite lines occur near the end “crudly cropped — casting / an opinion” Very cool. (The Treespotting pictures are great).

Leave a Reply

