Skip to content

POEMS: Dusk & Confessions

June 28, 2010

Dusk

dusk approaches

but I just started my day and

now I’m racing

with the moon

but I’m too calm to race.

I’d rather watch this ant

scale the branch or rub circles

into the texture of the leaves

or press my face into bark

right here, I move with the dusk

because it just started its dusk

here I’m just a tree girl

writing

Confession of a Bedtime Poet

I

There’s a field of pencils

on my night stand,

for inspirational purposes

and to feel cool

II

Old boogers from the past

that I hid under the mattress

and in between bedsheets

haunt me

and return as they once were

but stickier

III

I have no clue how to

write

13 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2010 11:22 pm

    interesting poem!

  2. soulintention: signed .............bkm permalink
    June 30, 2010 11:09 pm

    Brillant and oh so charming — love the way you press your face into the bark and find – those old boogers under the mattress…. cheers –lovely work…bkm

    http://signedbkm.blogspot.com

    • July 1, 2010 12:04 am

      i also love the way I press my face into bark, its a sensory thing, an acquired taste (touch??) Appreciate the comment, peace

  3. July 1, 2010 10:32 am

    smart poem!

    • July 1, 2010 1:59 pm

      thanks, debatable about the “smart” part but i’ll take the compliments when i can

  4. July 1, 2010 3:40 pm

    these words make me believe that if we just stop and appreciate the small things we may ended may be able to suspend darkness from falling too soon….nice writing!

    • July 1, 2010 3:43 pm

      oopps “ended may” should be deleted and “indeed” inserted! sometimes I submit to soon!

  5. July 2, 2010 6:28 am

    Vivid imagination …loved it:)

  6. July 4, 2010 3:39 pm

    inspiring!

  7. July 4, 2010 4:47 pm

    have fun visiting poets back…

  8. July 7, 2010 2:21 am

    Love trees. Love your photographs. Love the joy in your writing. Thanks – Bill

Trackbacks

  1. Happy Blog-iversary Baby! « Writing in a Tree

Leave a Reply

